Guest Reviews of The Lakeside GetAway


Date of Arrival: October 11, 2015        ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

Outstanding Vacation Home

Our girlfriends getaway was a success!!! We stayed two nights at this beautiful home. It is in a scenic location... peaceful and gorgeous view of the lake. Our first evening we had dinner at Iva's chicken dinners in Sterling which was enjoyed by all. The next day we had breakfast at the Pepper Mill in Gladwin. Then on to excellent spa treatments at the Oasis in Gladwin. We checked out the area and found an apple farm then played games back at the house. In the evening, we went to the Hearth restaurant near the rental home. It was fabulous and all of us enjoyed the meal. The final morning we went back to the Pepper Mill because the food was so delicious. Our group of ladies had the best time together... an extension of our 50th high school reunion. The house was stocked with everything we needed and well-maintained. We would highly recommend a stay at the Lakeside Getaway.

                                                                                                               Kathy S
______________________________________________________________________________

Date of Arrival: June 28, 2015        ★★★★ (4 out of 5)

“Great location, great for families”
The house has a lot of space for groups and families. The association beach is just a short walk away and also has a nice playscape for the kids (right in the sand). We rented the pontoon boat which added a lot of fun to our stay. The fishing was great, we caught quite a few pike and large mouth bass. The large deck with retractable awning made hanging out on the deck very enjoyable. 
                                                                                                                Kathy M
______________________________________________________________________________


Date of Arrival: July 5, 2015            ★★★★★ (3 out of 5)

“Spacious, Water front view, AC”
The property was spacious and roomy. The AC was a excellent feature. The 2 refrigerators were an added bonus. The views were spectacular. The separate living spaces on each level were nice.
Negatives for us were no WI-FI, public beach when we were used to a private one and squeaky floors.
Also for your information, we never did find the beaters for the mixer in the kitchen. 

                                                                                                                Kay W

Owner's Response: We are always glad to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. :) We do realize that many of our guests would like to have wi-fi available but this area does not have good wi-fi connections...so it is not feasible. As stated in our Welcome Book in the house, there is free wi-fi available in the POA parking lot (3 blocks from the property).... or for those that want to be able to do some work or more than just download email, the Chalet at the Sugar Springs Campground has tables and electrical outlets (etc). We are sorry to hear you were expecting a private beach. We do explain on the website and when discussing with inquiries that while the beach is not a private beach, belonging only to the property (Lakeside GetAway)... Sugar Springs is a private recreational community. The beach is semi-private...only Sugar Springs residents and guests can use the beach. Typically, the beach is pretty empty, however being July 4th, it was indeed quite busy. The only other time of year this beach has so much activity is Labor Day weekend and it gets quite busy then, as well. Should you stay with us in the future we would like to suggest you reserve for any time of the summer except these two holiday weekends. 
______________________________________________________________________________
Date of Arrival: June 21, 2015        ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

“Fantastic Cottage in the Perfect Location”
If I were going to design the perfect place for an "Up North" vacation, it would be this cottage. It is well laid out and well maintained with everything you need to eat, sleep and have fun in the sun. The huge deck off the living area is the perfect place to soak up the sun, have a meal, or just take in the great view of the lake and public beach. You can walk to the beach area, and the vehicle entrance to the boat launch is right next to the property!



                                                                                                                Jerry M
______________________________________________________________________________



Date of Arrival: June 21, 2015            ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)
“The perfect house and location for get-togethers.”

'Lakeside GetAway' was the best family vacation we have ever had. The house has so much room that we could all be together in the same place at the same time, but with two floors and so much room, if someone wanted to be alone, there was the ability to do that too. There were lots of beds and an over abundance of blankets, pillows, towels. The kitchen was very well stocked. There was more dinnerware, silverware, cups and glasses than I have ever seen in a rental home. There are more spices here than I have in my own house and more pots, pans, bowls, storage containers, everything is here. As a matter of fact, With the well-stocked kitchen and the outdoor grill, we ended up eating in everyday except the day we got there and there always has to be a pizza night. We got our pizza from The Hearth restaurant that is right at the end of the road and it was really good pizza. 

The beach is right there in front of the house along with the playground, very convenient. The restroom at the beach is the cleanest outdoor restroom I have ever seen. We had use of the pontoon boat and driving around the lake was more fun than we imagined; it's a beautiful lake and the kids loved fishing off the boat and off the dock. There is plenty of room for outdoor lawn games. We played more cornhole and ladder ball than we have ever played. Toasting marshmallows at the firepit was enjoyed several nights. Firewood was available at the Sugar Shack right down the road. They were also very convenient for quick restock of milk and bread and almost anything else you might need. It was also the perfect place for ice cream after our pizza night. We had a little rain one day so we took advantage of the indoor pool. It made for another great day. Lin and Sue were great to work with. All questions were answered in a timely manner. Complete instructions for opening and closing the house made that part of the trip easy, usually that's the part I hate. I would recommend this house for anyone. It will not disappoint.
                                                                                                                Kathy M
______________________________________________________________________________


Date of Arrival: June 9, 2015        ★★★★ (4 out of 5)
“Much larger than it looks! Immaculate!”
Our third stay at this property and each time has been a delight. The setting with its closeness to water, beach, indoor pool, tennis courts, pickleball and golf is excellent for most any group. The home itself is immaculate and I doubt there is any cooking item, dinnerware, linens etc. that are not available in plentiful supply. The only item that keeps this from 5 star is a very noisy water heater and water pump if any are sleeping in the lower level. But, we would rent again at any time.
                                                                                                                Joan A (Gaylord, MI)
______________________________________________________________________________

Date of Arrival: January 22, 2015    Rating: ★★★★ (4 out of 5)
“Winter Fun”
This was our 2nd year @ this rental house in Sugar Springs Resort. Our family of 10 (grandparents, parents & grandchildren) of 3 generations enjoyed the space this home offers. The dining room allows all of us to sit down and enjoy a meal together as well as a living room that provides enough room to play games together. The lake view is great and when needing to come in from the cold it's not to far to come in, warm up and get back out on the ice. A good rental for large families.
                                                                                                                Linda D
______________________________________________________________________________
​Date of Stay: July 12, 2014

We had an outstanding time & great weather as well--We will miss the Lakeside Getaway next year !!!

                                                                                                                   Caesar W
______________________________________________________________________________
Date of Stay: July 13, 2014            Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)
“Perfect Vacation Location”

Each year we rent a place to spend time with the children and grandchildren. Awesome doesn't begin to describe the beauty of this location. The dining and living area looked right out on the lake. The lake had a backdrop of wonderful fall colors. The house was very clean. The description was accurate. It is well laid out; there were 13 of us and we never felt crowded. We had 8 children and they enjoyed the playground. The older children spent time canoeing. Everyone loved the indoor pool. We had fun roasting hotdogs and making smores. We visited an apple farm and watched cider being made. We bought apples, cider and scrumptious doughnuts at the farm. There are lots of other activities in the area, but our time was limited to the long weekend. We would enjoy going again when it is warm enough to swim in the lake.
                                                        Donna L
______________________________________________________________________________

Date of Stay: August 17, 2014
"Wonderful Time"

We had a wonderful time at the Lakeside house. Very comfortable and stocked with everything we needed. Thank you for everything. Our family had a memorable week.  
                                                                                                    Shirley L (via email)
​______________________________________________________________________________
Date of Stay: July 13, 2014            Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)
"Awesome!!" 

We had a wonderful week with our family at The Lakeside Getaway! There were 9 of us and there was plenty of room. We didn't spend much time in the house though! The house has a beautiful location right on the lake and next to the playscape which our grandchildren made good use of! The rec center with the pool, basketball and bocce ball was a hit as well. We made use of the pool on the one rainy day we had. There was plenty to keep us busy!! We visited Larrys for ice cream a few times-delicious! Would definitely come back again. Only negative I can think of is that we could not find a local bike trail but the roads are quiet and the kids loved riding their bikes on the hills!!

                                                                                                    Felicia W
______________________________________________________________________________

Date of Stay: July 13, 2014            Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)
"Cozy accommodations with a *Beautiful View*"

The home allowed ample space for our extended family to enjoy the togetherness of a family vacation while giving each family privacy throughout the week. The view from our porch was incredibly relaxing! We enjoyed all of our meals and many nights of card games at the patio table under the awning. The beach was close enough that the kids could play in the water while we sat outside or played corn hole. Every evening ended with a bonfire, of course! We also enjoyed the many amenities offered by the Sugar Springs Resort. Bocce ball, basketball and swimming were some of our favorites! Thank you for offering a spacious, comfortable property for travelers to feel at home when away from home! We hope to be back soon!

                                                                                                        Jennifer W
______________________________________________________________________________

Date of Stay: June 12, 2014                Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

"Wonderful!" 

This is the second year that my extended family stayed at the Lakeside GetAway, and once again it was wonderful. The area is peaceful and beautiful, the house is clean, well kept and spacious with enough sleeping space for everyone. The yard is lovely, and the beach and play area are nice and close. Everyone in my family loves staying here and we will be booking again for next year!

                                                                                                        Janelle C

​______________________________________________________________________________

Date of Stay: January 23, 2014        Rating: ★★★★★ (3 out of 5)
"A great place for family. "

The home was very clean and the lake view is beautiful. Having rented this home in the winter their was an issue that the driveway was not plowed and the driveway was difficult to locate because of the snow drifting, etc. Luckily we all were driving 4 wheel drive vehicles and were able to get in and out of the driveway most of the time but with the additional snowfall we received throughout the weekend one of our vehicles still got stuck. Therefore, if you are renting this property in the winter months you will want to insure that the snow is cleared. There are several activities that we enjoyed during our stay; Ice fishing on the lake, swimming in the Sugar Springs public pool (very nice) and walking trails even though it was extremely cold during our stay. Overall a nice place to rent.
​______________________________________________________________________________

Date of Stay: June 2, 2014

Dear Lin, Sue and Jan,

Just to let you know our time here at Lakeside has been great! The home, view and surroundings are superb. We decided Sugar Springs is a hidden gem. Your attention to detail in terms of furnishings, supplies, "toys" and information is much appreciated. Just hope our next visit can be longer.

                                                                                     Thanks, Joan and friends (via email)
__________________________________________________________________________________


Date of Stay January 2014 Submitted: May 9, 2014 

It Has Been a Great Week 

Well, tomorrow we head south and we must say "it has been a great week"!
Thank you kindly. And give thanks to God to be able to spend time together as a family....Grandma/Grandpa, 3 daughters, a son, their spouses & kids! Words can't adequately express the extent of the blessings that came our way this ending of 2013 and beginning of 2014.
We arrived in the afternoon and shortly thereafter witnessed a beautiful sunset...reminds one of Psalms 19:1 "The heavens declare the glory of God.....". What a way to start this wonderful week. God's richest blessings

__________________________________________________________________________________
Date of Stay: January 2014Rating: ★★★★★ (3 out of 5)

A GREAT PLACE FOR FAMILY. 

The home was very clean and the lake view is beautiful. Having rented this home in the winter their was an issue that the driveway was not plowed and the driveway was difficult to locate because of the snow drifting, etc. Luckily we all were driving 4 wheel drive vehicles and were able to get in and out of the driveway most of the time but with the additional snowfall we received throughout the weekend one of our vehicles still got stuck. Therefore, if you are renting this property in the winter months you will want to insure that the snow is cleared. There are several activities that we enjoyed during our stay; Ice fishing on the lake, swimming in the Sugar Springs public pool (very nice) and walking trails even though it was extremely cold during our stay. Overall a nice place to rent. 

Owner's ResponseThe problem they had was the weather conditions just before they arrived. Driveway had been plowed, however we had a lot of wind and blowing and a lot of the snow blew back in and caused drifting. The weather conditions this year have been extreme, to say the least, and have caused many problems throughout the state and country. We were sorry to hear they got stuck,  and we are glad to hear they were in SUV's and able to get unstuck and go on to enjoy their stay !
__________________________________________________________________________________

Date of Arrival: August, 2013

I wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay. The house was lovely and there was plenty of room for all of us. The welcome basket was lovely, also. Thank you very much for that. :-) We thoroughly enjoyed the pontoon, also. My husband loved being able to fish. He did say that there is 3/4 of a tank left for the next renter.

Hopefully everything at the house is in good order and acceptable. I didn't notice until this morning that there are rips in the chair covers for the deck. I spoke to my cousin, who had removed them, and she said that they were not in the best condition and she did notice rips. So, hopefully we left them in pretty much the same condition as we found them.  

Thank you very much for a great stay, and if you'll have us, I think we'd like to rent again next year.

​                                                                                               Jenelle (via Email)
__________________________________________________________________________________

Date of Arrival: August 14, 2013      Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5) 

"Restful!!" 

This was our second year at this location and can't wait to go back again. Have 2 elderly family members and house layout is wonderful for them. What a way to start the day with a cup of coffee on the deck looking out over the lake. Went canoeing from Gladwin and played putt-putt in Houghton Lake.

                                                                                               Donna Hammond 
__________________________________________________________________________________

Date of Stay: June 29, 2013 

THANK YOU soooo very much for our “goodie’ basket. Loved the wine – what a great thought. Kids loved the lollipops.

The Inn felt so cozy and happy. We had a great time on the pontoon and swimming in the lake.

You could always find someone reading on the porch in the comfortable chairs or fishing from the dock. We haven’t caught so many fish in years. We were amazed at how large they were. Even caught, filleted (word ??) and cooked quite a few of them for lunch. Yum !

Every amenity was provided for us, which was really appreciated.

Weather was in the mid 80’s but sunny & a breeze could be caught on the porch. Only had rain one day & we played lots of inside games. Plenty of room to spread out.

Loved having the washer & dryer so accessible. Really made it easy for us.  The dishwasher was a wonderful time saver since we ate all our meals in house.

Thanks for making our Gladwin, Michigan memories so fantastic !! : ~ )

                                                                                      Pam D - 
                                                                                          (4) – Palatine, IL
                                                                                          (4) – Bartlett, IL
                                                                                          (2) – Des Plaines, IL
                                                                                          (2) - Roseville, IL
                                                                                          (1) – Elgin, IL
                                                                              ~ copied from the in-home Guest Review Book ~

​​ __________________________________________________________________________________
Date of Stay: June 7 – 14, 2013 

The Lakeside GetAway is an amazing vacation house and Sugar Springs is a great area. The week was very peaceful & relaxing. We all had something to do, went fishing and rented the pontoon for a day which was awesome. Also we took a day and went to the dunes in Silver Lake and visted the lighthouse by Lake Michigan. The best part of vacation was getting to meet Dr. Pol and he took us on a tour of his clinic! (He is the “incredible Dr. Pol from TV"). Overall, this vacation was so much fun the weather was also beautiful while we were here. Thanks for having such a great house for people to stay in !

                                                                                     The Longs from Duncansville, PA
                                                                                     ♥(Jeff, Cindy, Hayden, Kristie, Emily and Titus)
                                                                                         ~ copied from the in-home Guest Review Book ~

P.S. Keep your eyes on the tall pine to the right of the boat launch. We saw a bald eagle several 
times and it may be nesting in that tree – Jeff Long
​​​ __________________________________________________________________________________
"Perfect Fit for 8 Adults & 9 Grandchildren" 
Date of Stay: June 2013           Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

Outstanding !!!
With soon to be 10 grandchildren, we needed a place large enough to accommodate our troops and after much searching we have found it !!!

Without question it possesses more than enough space for cooking, eating, sleeping, bathing, family pinochle tournaments, nightly bonfires & relaxing. The Lakeside Getaway Lodge as "The Westons" call it provides many amenities that "The Westons" thoroughly enjoyed: great beach for swimming, great lake for fishing, great children's "catch & release" pond and a wonderful reasonably-priced golf course that we played twice. We already have already reserved a week for next July & we would probably rate "The Lodge" with 7 Stars. The one flaw is that in the "recommended to bring" list of supplies it is mentioned to bring cone-shaped coffee filters for the coffee makers; however flat bottom basket-type filters are required. Please correct that ladies, as everything else from instructions to property maintenance is absolutely first rate !!!!! 

Owner's Response: What a great review. Such nice people. so glad they really enjoyed their stay and enjoyed it enough to book for next year.. They wanted to add this to their review but were unable to add it and asked me to add it .... "Lin--It will not let me see it; Just add: One & all [even the babies] just loved the pontoon excursions !!! "
Sorry about the wrong type of coffee filters. We replaced the coffee pot but didn't think to change the type of filter on the suggested packing list. There is a second coffee pot in the lower level kitchen that takes that type of filter.

​​​ __________________________________________________________________________________________
One of the the most peaceful, relaxing vacations ever!
Date of Stay: June 2013           Rating: ★★★★ (4 out of 5)

The only thing you need to bring is your favorite foods and a desire to relax and enjoy your surroundings. We wanted for very little, the GetAway was stocked with most everthing from pots and pans and dishes to a wide varities of movies. No one was crowded, more space than we expected. We enjoyed fishing from the Pontoon boat and canoe. Great view of the lake from the large balcony. The GetAway is not for those who like the hubub of shopping and nightlife, it was exactly what my family was looking for. Love the charming surrounding rural community. Excellent customer service and products at the Sugar Shack, a small "Wal-Mart wannabee" just down the road. Very quiet and peaceful, great place to take a long walk or just sit and enjoy the outdoors. Got some great picutres of the area, including a bald eagle nesting in a tall pine directly in front of us at the end of the boat dock. Each day ended with the soothing, haunting sound of the loons calling from across the lake. If you are looking for a place to have some uninterupted, peaceful time with family and friends, I would highly recommend the Lakeside GetAway. 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Date of Stay – April 27 - 28,  2013

Your home had everything we needed and more. It was very well organized (we were impressed). We enjoyed the canoe and the children enjoyed playing on the beach. We had warm weather! The view is wonderful and we enjoyed the campfire in the evening. There was nothing to be desired. Thank you. It was all we envisioned.

P.S. We also enjoyed the pool.
                                                                                                       Cheryl & Tom Luptowski
                                                                                                       Bay City, MI
________________________________________________________________________________________________________  
Great time at Lakeside GetAway
Date of Stay: October 2012 

Hi Lin, 

I tried again today and could not get the link to take my e-mail. So this is what I said ........
 We had a great time at the Lakeside getAway home. It was very well furnished and comfortable. The view was especially fantastic as the fall colors were at peak season. We really enjoyed the area, we visited Gladwin, Claire, Pinconning, and Birch Run outlet mall. The things we liked best were the small shops, the Amish farms and quilts on Clothesline on a corner. The Hidden Stone Gardens were a personal favorite of mine. We all agreed it was one of the best places we have visited in the 21 years we have been making annual family visits all over the USA.

                                        Mary
__________________________________________________________________________________
Fabulous time at the Gladwin House
Date of Stay: September 2012 

Lin, 

Our family had a fabulous time at the Gladwin house. It was well stocked, clean and comfortable (Our weather was perfect. The only rain was one night and was over before the morning. Thanks to your family for having such a wonderful house available for others to enjoy. 

We enjoyed the pontoon for fishing and a farewell cruise around the lake on Saturday evening. We saw deer, turkey and our favorite sighting was an eagle. I expect our family will be checking in the future for another stay. 

Again, thanks.
                                                  (Email review) 
__________________________________________________________________________________
Beal’s family vacation
Date of Stay: August 2012 

The vacation property is exactly as shown in the photos; absolutely beautiful and had all the comforts of home. The only thing you have to bring is food if you wish to do so since everything needed was provided. There were many activities in the surrounding area but we did not take advantage of them because we enjoyed the vacation home, the beach and the water. Amazingly, the home accommodated fourteen of us. We all had our own space when we wanted it, but it was so nice being in the company of family for our three day stay. 

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a beautiful and relaxing vacation. 

                                                 The Beal Family
__________________________________________________________________________________
Our wonderful family vacation
Date of Stay: August 2012           Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

The house was great and the view awesome! There was 10 of us and we all had our own room and space. The house is very well stocked and organized. We used the kitchen alot. We enjoyed having the pontoon. We fished, swam and tubed off of it. The kids enjoyed the hiking trails. The Sugar Shack was great and also the Family Diner in Gladwin was good food. We also took advantage of the local produce and Amish baking. Thank you!! 

                                                 The Varga Family

​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Relaxation
Date of Stay: July 2012Rating: ★★★★ (4 out of 5)  

Home was as decribed. We had 6 adults and there was plenty of room for everyone. There were 3 large low rise steps into the home that accomodated our 2 older vacationers. With the main living area on one level and the beautiful deck to walk out to everyone could enjoy the outdoors. An electric awning provided ample shade. 

Easy access to both Gladwin and West Branch areas. Went canoeing in Gladwin and shopped at Walmart in West Branch. 

Made 2 calls to owners with quick response and questions answered. 

Looking forward to staying again in the future! 

                                        Donna H
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Family Vacation
Date of Stay: July 2012               Rating: ★★★★ (4 out of 5) 

We had a great time this year again up at Lake Lancelot. We caught lots of nice pike and bass, plus some nice panfish also. We had 8 adults and 6 children and we had plenty of room. The pontoon was very nice and so was the lake. Lots of kid activities within walking distance of the home (swimming, beach, playground, fishing). We had a big fish fry one evening consisting of pike, bass, and panfish fresh from the lake. I would recommend bringing a gas grill, as I brought my Weber, because the small charcoal grill provided is not big enough or fast enough for preparing food for a large group. Also, the awning over the deck is very nice for shade, but it was not working electrically, so I had to crank it out manually which was not easy. Overall, a very nice place and nice location for the money. Home needs a little bit of mantenance to keep it updated and nice. 

Owner's Response: As always, we love to hear what our guests have done and enjoyed at our home or in the area. This group of guests are repeat guests and both times caught enough fish to have a fish fry (on the grill). I was not sure what little bit of maintenance our guest was talking about (as we stay on top of maintenance and repairs except for when we are booked and can not get into the house without disturbing current guests). I contacted our guest for a better explanation. This was his reply :

Lin, 
I noticed the shingles were starting to curl on the roof, so I would suspect that the roof needs to be replaced soon. Also, the awning needs to be more user friendly. There was also a very loud clunking noise that you could hear in the basement bedrooms when the water was used in the upper level. You have probably heard it before if you have spent much time there, but it is not continuous, just when the water was used upstairs. It would wake people up in the downstairs bedrooms. Nothing major, just things we noticed during our stay. 
Oh, you may also want to have someone treat the deck railing and picnic table from time to time for wasp nests. I found a can of wasp and hornet spray in the maintenance cabinet and sprayed over 12 active nests in these locations. Fortunately no one was stung, but they may have been if I had not treated them. The one was right under the picnic table where the kids were playing! Thank you. 

Owner’s NoteWe spray the deck railings on a regular basis when we are able to (when the house isn't booked back-to-back and we can stay there). We also leave spray for our guests to use in the interim. I was contacted about the electrical awning not working and explained to the guest that we also had a hand crank to use and explained how to use it. Our next guest said that they didn't have any problems with the electrical for the awning, so maybe it was just a weird glitch. Unfortunately, we cannot meet each and every extra need for every guest. We do provide a normal size charcoal grill (which is sufficient for our family of 17) but may not be sufficient for cooking a large number of fish.
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Vacation
Date of Stay: June 2012Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5) 

We really enjoyed the house and boat. There was room for all and the house was very clean and well equipped. My men enjoyed the golf course and we all enjoyed the restaurant. The lake was great and we caught fish. We have never had to strip beds, empty dishwasher and cover the boat before we left any where before. I thought 10am was early considering all we did to close up. It was very warm outside but the AC worked great. Our oldest grandchild is taking drivers ed next summer so I have to get dates, but we will be back.
Onesi/ Reichenbach Family 

Owner's Response: Great guests....very glad they enjoyed our home, the area and made use of the community's ammenities. We would love to have them stay with us again. Every owner sets up their vacation rental differently, so every place will have different requirements. Since we have a very large home (sleeps 19) and it takes a lot of time for our housekeeper to ready the home for turn around (especially with the laundry), we need to have these requirements to help facilitate this. Some owners in our area require the departing guests to do or start the laundry before they leave.
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Dixie
Date of Stay: June 2012               ★★★★★ (5 out of 5) 

This was a great vacation for our family. We had 6 adults and 5 grandchildren(2 to 8 years). It was very well furnished. We also rented the pontoon boat which gave us hours of entertainment. The kids played on the playground and swam. It was very well maintained. We would definately recommend this home. We swam in the pool once but cost $5 per person which is pricey for a big family. 

                               Dixie J
__________________________________________________________________________________________
The only thing nicer was the bride
Date of Stay: June 2012               Rating: ★★★★ (4 out of 5)  

We rented the house to do a small family wedding, I had checked the house out prior to committing since it was for something so important to us. The house still surprised us when we arrived, when they say it is full stocked the ladies truly met it. We had absoleutly everything we needed and more. The kids loved the canoe, and the DVD collection, I appreciated having the books for the nights that I couldn't fall asleep. The day of the wedding the 1st comment people would give me was how pretty I looked, the next one was how did you find this place and do they rent this out to anyone. I ended up giving a few tours of the place that day and made sure that those that wanted to the contact info had the business cards. I wont say we didn't have issues, no wedding happens without them, but the ladies were quick to be on the phone and help us get things fixed as quickly as possible. I will add that in my prior career I managed Marriott properties, and the ladies impressed me with there attention to detail about what people may need while they are at there home, the information booklet was a huge help! Those details are what show that they truly care and want to make sure the guests have as relaxing and enjoyable time as they can help provide for them. Ladies I can not thank you enough for the help you provided for us, and I look forward to working with you again. 

                                        Lynnette K
                                                                                                       Warrenville, IL
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Absolutely perfect for us
Date of Stay: December 2011                Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

From the first contact Lin provided excellent customer service and the process and the arrangements went flawlessly. 

The property was as described and was in excellent condition when we arrived. We were an adult group of ex-pats who just wanted to get together. We liked the privacy and the location is great. 

Bedrooms were perfect for our group and the amenities suited our needs well. Unfortunately we visited in the winter so we could not avail ourselves of the natural attractions such as the lake and the woods, but would like to do that in the summer. 

We would definitely recommend this location and the agency to friends and family.  Thanks !

                                        Tiki T
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
AWESOME
Date of Stay: July 2011                Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

Our family had the best vacation ever. The house was fantastic. There were 12 of us (6 adults and 6 children) and we had more than enough room for everyone to spread out. Sleeping arrangements were great as the kids were all downstairs. Loved the fact that the beach was so close that we could sit on the deck and watch the kids swim. The pontoon was great, especially when we let the kids jump off (with lifejackets on) and be able to climb back into the boat because of the ladder. Everything that we needed (and more) was there. Kitchen was great. Couldnt' ask for anything more. We had one bad weather day. Decided to go over to West Branch to the bowling alley. They also have a putt putt course that we got to do because the rain stopped. Plenty of shopping in West Branch (super Walmart, outlet mail) as well as places to eat. Best ice cream was at the Sugar Shack!!! A couple of days we went over to Higgins Lake State Park and had a great time swimming there. We went to Mackinaw one day - nice day trip. Can't say enough good things about The Lakeside Getaway. Lin and Sue were fantastic and made sure that our stay was the best. We made some great memories this summer; playing volleyball, croquet, having smores, fishing, swimming and just hanging out. THANK YOU, LIN & SUE!!! 

Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children 

                                         Shelly P.

Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your great review and for being such good guests. We really appreciate it. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time. Hope to see you in the future.
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
WONDERFUL!!!!!!
Date of Stay: June 2011               Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

We rented the house for the month of June and enjoyed it beyond our expectations. Everything worked in the house and everything was better than described. 

Our oldest son and his family came the 2nd week and our youngest and his family came the 3rd week. We skied, fished, swam, saw dear, bald eagles, baby skunks, Canada geese, and ducks. We met great neighbors and our grand children enjoyed playing with their dog. We ate more ice cream at Larry's, The Sugar Shack, and The Corner House than I thought was possible. By the way, the Amash bake goods sold on HWY 18 are sooo good they are sinful. 

Our whole family would like to do this again as soon as possible. Our grand children are ready to move to Sugar Springs NOW. 

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway 

                                         Karen M.

Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed our home and all of the things to do in the area. It is also nice that the Gladwin is located close enough to a lot of the major cities and attractions to make some day trips. 
We also just love the Amish baked goods and fresh vegetables and eggs. It is a nice farm. 
Glad the grandchildren loved the area too.
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Girls Weekend Scrapbook Trip
Date of Stay: February 2011Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

Our group of scrapbook gals have been taking these trips 2-3 times per year for the past 4-5 years, so you know we have tried many places. Most of them have been pretty nice places (we wouldn't have it any other way), but your place has been the one we like the best by far. The comfortableness, the generous space, the cleanliness and your hospitality has made our trips very pleasant and something to look forward to again. Although we have never visited your place in the summer months to enjoy the outdoor experiences (the lake, boat, golf-pool, etc.), it looks very tempting! Our preference is to visit in the Fall and late winter or early Spring, more of a down time for northern rentals, which is why we so appreciate you working with us on the check-in and check-out times, it means a lot to us! If you are considering a place for your family vacation, I highly recommend this property. Keep up the good work and have a successful summer rental season!! Your favorite scrapbook girls from Flushing!! 

Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children 

                                    Karen H.
                                         Flushing, MI

Owner's Response: What a great bunch of ladies and what a good idea....scrapbooking getaway. 
Thank you for returning to our home to do your crafting. We hope you will be able to come some time in the summer and enjoy the lake and the beach.
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
We Couldn’t Ask for Anything More
Date of Stay: August 2010

We love your home and thank you very much for the wonderful accomadations. We could ask for anything more. It was perfect for our family of 18. It was well stocked. There was plenty to do even with the couple of days of rain. The grandkids learned to canoe, the guys and kids did a lot of fishing off your pontoon. There was a lot of family bonding. the 9 grandchildren were in heaven to be able to spend a week with their cousins. We couldn't ask for anything more. We would love to do this again!! Thanks for the hospitality. You've thought of everything to fill your home so that we could have a perfect time. 

                                                                                Group from Washington & Michigan 
                                                                                              (taken from our in-house Guest Review Book) 
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Perfect Spot...
Date of Stay: August 2010 

Thank you so much for sharing your vacation home. It was a perfect spot for my daughter's Memorial Service on Sunday. She loved the outdoors, tubing, camping, etc. The rest of the week was enjoyed by all...fishing, tubing & just being together. Thank you. 
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Guest Book Review
Date of Stay: August 2010 

A-1 cottage for a large family. It has almost everything you could hope for. We have been doing this summer week for many years, and this is the first cottage which seemed to satisfy every body. It is also the first that we wanted to definitely return to. We had a Great Week! 
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Guest Book Review
Date of Stay: August 2010 

Very nice accommodations! Felt very much like home. Kids loved fishing, & fishing & fishing & fishing off the docks. Over all the week was four stars.

                                                                         from Fraser & Warren, MI
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Great Stay
Date of Stay: August 2010              Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

Great house for a family get together! Owners are very accommodating and went out of their way for us. The lake is great and the use of the pontoon boat was a plus. Could have stayed longer! Thank you so much Three Sisters! 

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway 

                                    Bob
                                                   Annapolis, MD
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Guest Book Review
Date of Stay: July 2010 

Awesome place. “home away from home”! Perfect for 10 adults and 5 children. We had our Christmas in July. Thanks so much.

                                                                                      Alaska , Nevada, Bay City & Coleman, MI
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Guest Book Review
Date of Stay: July 2010 

We had a great (underline 3x's) time at "The Lakeside GetAway". It was very clean and neat and equpeed for anything the weather brought our way! We appreciated all the thoughtful little toughes. We had small kids with us and found it very kid friendly. Thanks for opening your home for some of us to get away and enjoy the amazing views and just relax. We look forward to coming back. 
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Guest Book Review
Date of Stay: July 2010 

Our Family Reunion Was Wonderful! "Bev Bash And Beyond".Everyone loved the house and the location. It was so nice to have us all at one location for our party. The campground was a beautiful spot for our campers and worked our well to sleep and short drive back to the house. This place was awesome! I want to come back for a week! Not 3 days. The lake was amazing and the Sugar Shack was awesome also! Just a minute away and had everything. We hope to come back soon w/more people to show how amazing the view, the house, the lake, everything went as planned. 
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Bev Bash & Beyond 2010 at Lakeside Getaway
Date of Stay: July 2010               Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

We had our 2nd Annual Family Reunion at the Lakeside Getaway at Sugar Springs in July 2010 and we loved it! The house is furnished really nice inside and has tons of room for big groups with it's two levels. One level for the older folks and one level for the younger crew. The best part of the house is where it is located: 1-close to the Sugar Springs Campground for those woodsy types and just a block away from the Golf Club House & Restaurant for those sporty eat out types. 2-the property sits alone from other neighbors and is right at the entrance of the Beach Club, therefore as guests, you have the special treat of using the Beach club property whenever you want by just crossing over the lawn. It's really cool! It makes the property huge: completely open to the lake and the view is awesome from all points of the house & property! There is a little traffic at the gate to the Beach Club, but nothing bad (this is only one of the many Private Beach Clubs located off Lake Lancer and Lancelot). It is actually fun to see the other residents and guests of Sugar Springs coming into the Beach Club with their boats, jet skis, and other cool toys, waking their dogs & pupppies and also to be able to watch them enjoying themselves fishing or swimming from a far at the beach (while you sit back on the deck or lower level patio chilling out). Everyone we met was awesome. Beach Club goers and neighbors are very friendly, but do not force themselves on you. They wave to you and if you want to talk, they will certainly stop and talk about how much they love living or visiting Sugar Springs! We are definitely planning our 3rd annual BEV BASH 2011 at the Lakeside Getaway! 

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children 

                                                       Bev Bash & Beyond GroupMetro Detroit Area, MI
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Sugar Springs Rental Home
Date of Stay: July 2010               Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

The house was great and everything worked, was clean, and a nice layout and view of the lake. The pontoon worked well and ran very nicely. The beach and playground area was great for the kids. It was well maintained, but there were too many seagulls that liked to use the beach as well. I would be upset if I was the owner of the green covered pontoon as the seagull feces were annoying! They need a seagull deterrent!! 

Recommended for: Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children 

                                        Keith B.
                                               Coleman, MI
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Perfect. 
Date of Stay: July 2010               Rating: ★★★★★ (5 out of 5)

My friends and I rented the Lakeside Getaway for a long weekend in June. The house is great from top to bottom. Everything is provided and even the smallest details are handled in a large check-in book on the counter. 5 stars is not nearly enough. Can I give 10? 

Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children 

                              Jeff
                                                  Auburn Hills, MI
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Our 1st Lake Vacation
Date of Stay: June 2010 

We want to thank you for letting us use your vacation home (smile). It is a lovely home with a "great" kitchen! That was very nice. This was our 1st lake vacation and also our 1st Michigan vacation. Beautiful lake, great play set and fun for everyone. We also had a good time on the pontoon boat. So thank you all again.....from OH-IO. Go Buckeyes 

                                                                           (copied from our in-home Guest Book)
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Guest Book Review
Date of Stay: June 2010 

We really enjoyed this house. It's very well stocked and is designed well for a big family vacation. The area is really nice! We had 9 kids with us and there was plenty to keep them busy. It's already been mentioned that we may return here again for a future vacation. 
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Guest Book Review
Date of Stay: June 2010 

We want to "Thank You" for letting us use your vacation home (smile). It is a lovely home with a great kitchen. that was very nice. This was our 1st lake vacation and also our 1st Michigan vacation. Beautiful lake, great play set and fun for everyone. We also had a good time on the pontoon boat. So thank you again, 

The Vargo's, Ondrus and Hunsinger familiesfrom OH-IO (smile) Go Buckeyes
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Guest Book Review
Date of Stay: June 2010 

What a great place! The house worked out perfect, the lake is lovely and the pontoon boat was great. Thanks for everything 
​__________________________________________________________________________________________
Renter Posted Review (HomeAway Connect)
Date of Stay: May 2010 

The Lakeside GetAway was a great place for us and our extended family to stay. We were all able to have our own space, and also spend quality time together. The kids loved playing at the nearby beach, & the guys had great luck fishing! The house was comfy, very clean & inviting. It had a great deck, firepit area, and lots of little extras as well (games, videos, etc). We had a great weekend!

                                                 -Jill Thompson 



HOMEThe Lakeside GetAwayWoods & WaterDeerHavenWater's EdgeLive Laugh Lake
Eagle's NestLounging LakesideGuest Photos